WWS Safety Committee

  • Our school board and superintendent, Dr. Sherry Grate, send a very clear message that the safety of our students and staff is the top priority of Westfield Washington Schools.  For the past five years, a committee, led by Executive Director of Human Resources Chris Baldwin, consisting of building administrators, central office staff, our district SRO, our two SSOs, and representatives from the Westfield Police Department and Westfield Fire Department has met monthly to review and revise our safety procedures.  Through this committee’s work, we have an excellent relationship with the Westfield Police Department, Westfield Fire Department, and Hamilton County Emergency Management.  Each building and central office staff member on this committee is a School Safety Specialist through the Indiana Department of Education Indiana School Safety Specialist Academy.  Information on the academy can be found at http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/safetySchool Safety Specialists must attend two professional development days per year at the Indiana School Safety Academy to remain certified.